2021 National Landcare Conference Speaker David Littleproud

The Hon. David Littleproud MP, Minister for Agriculture and Northern Australia

David was elected to the House of Representatives as the Member for Maranoa, Queensland, in 2016. He was born and raised in Chinchilla and currently resides in Warwick. David was educated at Chinchilla State High School before finishing secondary education at Toowoomba Grammar School.

During the past 20 years, David forged a career in agribusiness while living and working in towns such as Miles, Nanango, Charleville, St George, Stanthorpe and Warwick.

This experience provides David with an acute understanding of the important role agriculture and small business plays in creating jobs and promoting economic growth across rural, regional and remote Australia. He understands the importance of economic development as a means of building a prosperous future for younger generations and developing the capacity of health, education, agriculture, telecommunications and small business sectors.

Since being elected as the Member for Maranoa, David has served as a Member of the Joint Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade, including the Trade Sub-Committee, and Foreign Affairs Sub-Committee. David has also served as a Member on the House of Representatives Standing Committee on Communications and the Arts and the House of Representatives Standing Committee on Industry, Innovation, Science and Resources.

In May 2019, David was appointed as the Minister for Water Resources, Drought, Rural Finance, Natural Disaster and Emergency Management.


Andrew Metcalfe AO, Secretary, Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment

Andrew Metcalfe has been the Secretary of the Commonwealth Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment since the department was created on 1 February 2020.

As Departmental Secretary, he leads 7,000 staff in the department itself and over 12,000 in portfolio agencies such as the Bureau of Meteorology and the Murray Darling Basin Authority.

The department is focussed on assisting industry to grow to a $100 billion agriculture sector by 2030; supporting stewardship and sustainable management to enhance Australia’s environment and unique heritage; supporting the sustainable management and productive use of Australia’s water resources; managing biosecurity risks to Australian agriculture, the environment and our way of life; and advancing Australia’s strategic, scientific and environmental interests in the Antarctic and the Southern Ocean.
After studying law and public administration at the University of Queensland, Andrew has had a long career in the Australian Public Service, including as head of the Department of Immigration for seven years and head of the Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry.

Between 2014 and January 2020 Andrew was a senior partner in EY (Ernst and Young), the global professional services firm.
Andrew was appointed as an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2012.

2021 National Landcare Conference Speaker David Lindenmayer

Professor David Lindenmayer, AO, Fenner School of Environment and Society, The Australian National University

Professor Lindenmayer is an Australian scientist and academic with expertise in landscape ecology, conservation and biodiversity. His research focuses on the adoption of nature conservation practices in agricultural production areas, developing ways to improve integration of native forest harvesting and biodiversity conservation, new approaches to enhance biodiversity conservation in plantations, and improved fire management practices in Australia. He specialises in large-scale, long-term research monitoring programs in south-eastern Australia, primarily in forests, reserves, national parks, plantations, and on farm land.

He has published more than 800 peer-reviewed scientific papers and 47 books on a wide range of topics associated with forestry, woodlands, wildlife and biodiversity conservation, and ecologically sustainable natural resource management.

Professor David Lindenmayer is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, winner of the 2018 ESA Whittaker Award for globally distinguished ecological researchers, winner of the Eureka Prize (twice), recipient of the Society for Conservation Biology Distinguished Service Award, Whitely Award for Science Book publishing (10 times), the Australian Natural History Medal, and the Serventy Medal for Ornithology. David Lindenmayer was awarded a prestigious 5-year Australian Research Council Laureate Fellowship in 2013 and an Order of Australia for contributions to ecology and science in 2014.

2021 National Landcare Conference Speaker Doug Humann

Doug Humann AM, Chair Landcare Australia

Doug Humann AM (GAICD, BA (Hons), Dip Ed) has had around 40 years involvement in regional Australia including 25 years leadership experience in the environmental sector.

Doug led Bush Heritage Australia (1997 – 2011) to national prominence before establishing his own consultancy working for environmental NGOs, Indigenous groups, traditional owners and natural resource management /catchment management authorities.

Doug provides advice and support on a range of strategic, investment, project and governance matters, and is particularly involved in building partnerships and collaborations.

2021 National Landcare Conference Speaker Dr Patrick O’Connor

Dr. Patrick O’Connor, Chair National Landcare Network

Patrick O’Connor is an ecological economist who focuses on the optimisation of ecosystem services and private land conservation. He has held a number of board positions for Trees for Life (South Australia), the Nature Conservation Society SA, and Cystic Fibrosis Australia.

2021 National Landcare Conference Speaker Dhani Gilbert

Dhani Gilbert – Young Landcare Leader

Dhani Gilbert, is a proud Kalari (Lachlan River) Wiradjuri young woman who’s focused on achieving just and sustainable outcomes for First Nations Peoples, Country, community, and young people.

Dhani is currently a second year university student studying a double degree at the Australian National University and a graduate certificate at Charles Sturt University. She is also the Co-chair of the ACT Youth Advisory Council, a community outreach educator with the Woodlands & Wetlands Trust, and working with young women in ACT schools to facilitate culturally safe learning and community connection through weaving workshops.

Dhani has a solid cultural education and has grown up involved in Caring for Country practices inclusive of seed harvesting, cultural burning, weed eradication work, native vegetation restoration and student led First Nations plant use projects.

Dhani is a community driven young person passionate about doing what she can where she can to address inequality, First Nations injustice, protect our environment, empower young people, and contribute to lasting change that allows all people to thrive and flourish.

Ultimately, Dhani empowers other young people to participate widely in their community, whilst also being a part of positive social change in educational spaces, cultural education and in ecological recovery actions in the ACT.

Dhani’s contributions within community has been recognised and awarded 2018 Young Canberra Citizen of the Year, 2018 ACT NAIDOC Youth of the Year, 2018 ACT NAIDOC Scholar of the Year, 2019 ACT Miss NAIDOC, 2019 Austcover Young Landcare Leadership Award, and 2021 ACT Young Woman of the Year.